What we compared them on
- Curriculum fit: does the program say it follows the Australian Curriculum, and in what words?
- Price in Australian dollars, and how many children it covers.
- Ages and year levels.
- Safety: what the vendor says about ads and contact between children.
- What a parent can see: progress, reports and results.
Everything about another program comes from its own site, with the date we checked it in the sources at the bottom. Where a page does not say something, we say so instead of guessing.
The programs side by side
- ABC Reading Eggs and Mathseeds
- Best for
- Learning to read, and early maths
- Ages or years
- Reading 2 to 13, Mathseeds 3 to 9
- Price, as published
- A$149.99 a year, up to 4 children
- Mathletics
- Best for
- Maths with live competitions
- Ages or years
- 5 to 16
- Price, as published
- A$99 a year per child
- IXL
- Best for
- A large skill catalogue and a diagnostic
- Ages or years
- Preschool to Year 12
- Price, as published
- From A$129 a year for one subject
- Studyladder
- Best for
- Foundation to Year 6 Maths, English and Science
- Ages or years
- Foundation to Year 6
- Price, as published
- A$129 a year, family from A$189 for up to 4
- Prodigy
- Best for
- Game-style maths with free content
- Ages or years
- Grades 1 to 8
- Price, as published
- Free content; membership price not named in AUD
- Khan Academy Kids
- Best for
- Free early learning
- Ages or years
- 2 to 8
- Price, as published
- Free
- AdaptedMind
- Best for
- Maths for up to five children
- Ages or years
- Not stated on its pricing page
- Price, as published
- From $9.95 a month, currency not named
- PebbleYard
- Best for
- Parent-directed practice you can write yourself
- Ages or years
- 5 to 11
- Price, as published
- One family price, shown below
| Program | Best for | Ages or years | Price, as published |
|---|---|---|---|
| ABC Reading Eggs and Mathseeds | Learning to read, and early maths | Reading 2 to 13, Mathseeds 3 to 9 | A$149.99 a year, up to 4 children |
| Mathletics | Maths with live competitions | 5 to 16 | A$99 a year per child |
| IXL | A large skill catalogue and a diagnostic | Preschool to Year 12 | From A$129 a year for one subject |
| Studyladder | Foundation to Year 6 Maths, English and Science | Foundation to Year 6 | A$129 a year, family from A$189 for up to 4 |
| Prodigy | Game-style maths with free content | Grades 1 to 8 | Free content; membership price not named in AUD |
| Khan Academy Kids | Free early learning | 2 to 8 | Free |
| AdaptedMind | Maths for up to five children | Not stated on its pricing page | From $9.95 a month, currency not named |
| PebbleYard | Parent-directed practice you can write yourself | 5 to 11 | One family price, shown below |
Which one for which child
- Learning to read: ABC Reading Eggs, for its systematic phonics program.
- Early maths, ages 3 to 9: ABC Mathseeds, bundled with Reading Eggs.
- Maths only, with competition: Mathletics.
- A big catalogue and gap-finding across Maths, English and Science: IXL.
- Foundation to Year 6 across three subjects at a family price: Studyladder.
- Free play-based early learning: Khan Academy Kids.
- Short practice you direct, on topics you choose or write: PebbleYard.
Ads, chat and privacy
What the vendors say
- Khan Academy Kids says it shows no ads and does not let third parties track your child.
- Studyladder says it is ad-free, with no ads and no tracking.
- PebbleYard has no ads and no chat between children.
Not stated on the pages we read
- IXL, Mathletics, ABC Reading Eggs and AdaptedMind: we did not find an explicit statement about ads on their pricing pages.
- Prodigy says no personal information or inappropriate language can be shared with other users while children play. Its memberships FAQ mentions buying a membership through the iOS app.
Where PebbleYard fits
PebbleYard is a set of short practice topics for children aged 5 to 11, sequenced to the Australian Curriculum v9.0 with an ACARA reference on every topic. A parent chooses what their child works on and in what order, can write their own topics, and sees results that are graded on our servers and kept as a record. The Family plan covers up to three child profiles and two parent logins for one price.
PebbleYard prices today
- Solo$12 a month, or $89 a year
- Family$19 a month, or $149 a year
Read live from our pricing page. See what each plan includes.
Who should choose which
These are different kinds of help. Here is how to tell which one fits your family.
Choose another program if
- Your child is learning to read: Reading Eggs is built for that.
- You want a very large catalogue that adapts to your child, or content up to Year 12: IXL.
- You want a free app, or one with live competitions or game-style play.
Choose PebbleYard if
- You want to choose and order what your child practises, and write topics yourself.
- You want a record of every result without giving a child an email login.
- You have two or three children aged 5 to 11 and want one family price.
Frequently asked questions
Sources
- ABC Reading Eggs: home subscription pricing, checked 07/Oct/2026
- ABC Reading Eggs: free trial page, checked 07/Oct/2026
- Mathletics: home subscription pricing, checked 05/Oct/2026
- Mathletics Australia, checked 05/Oct/2026
- IXL Australia: family membership pricing, checked 05/Oct/2026
- IXL Australia, checked 05/Oct/2026
- Studyladder: parent pricing, checked 07/Oct/2026
- Studyladder Australia, checked 07/Oct/2026
- Prodigy: memberships, checked 07/Oct/2026
- Prodigy: for parents, checked 07/Oct/2026
- Khan Academy Kids, checked 07/Oct/2026
- AdaptedMind Math pricing page (screenshot filed 24 September 2026), checked 24/Sept/2026
Prices and features change, so check the vendor's own page before you buy. Product and company names are used to identify them and belong to their owners. PebbleYard is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any company named on this page.
Related reading
Written by the PebbleYard team
We build the app and use it on our own kids.
Try it with your own child
Seven days free, no card.